Getting A Visa On Arrival

A Visa on Arrival (VOA) to Indonesia is available only for citizens of the following countries:

Argentina India Qatar
Australia Ireland Romania
Austria Italy Russia
Algeria Japan Saudi Arabia
Bahrain Kuwait Slovak
Belgium Latvia Slovenia
Brazil Libya South Korea
Bulgaria Liechsteinten Spain
Czech Lithuania Suriname
Canada Luxembourg Sweden
China Maldives Switzerland
Cyprus Malta Taiwan
Denmark Mexico Timor Leste
Egypt Monaco Tunisia
Estonia Netherlands Turkey
Finland New Zealand United Arab Emirates
France Norway United Kingdom
Germany Oman United States of America
Greece Panama  
Hungary Poland  
Iceland Portugal  

The list above is based on the Regulation of Minister of Law & Human Right of the Republic of Indonesia No. 26, 2013. However prior to each of your trip, we suggest you to consult with the Indonesian Embassy of Consulate in your country or domicile for more updated information as regulations may change anytime. Please click one of countries from the list above and find the contact detail in the last paragraph below.

If you will be entering Indonesia from a point of entry not listed above, please contact the nearest Indonesian embassy in your country and might you need to apply for a visa in advance.

How To Apply VOA (Visa On Arrival)

Before entering Indonesia, you need to make sure your passport valid for at least 6 months from the date of arrival. You are also advised to bring along supporting documents that may include a booking references for lodgings and transportations (open return ticket would be great to prove you plan to leave). Without valid documentations, you may be denied entry. Another supporting documents might also useful to be prepared as a back-up are an invitation letter from a sponsor, latest 3 (three) months bank statements, and 4 copies of your 4 x 3 passport size photo. Those supporting documents also can be used if you want to extend your VOA during your holiday in Indonesia. VOA can be extended only one time for maximum 30 (thirty) days. If you plan to visit Indonesia more than 30 (thirty) days, might you should apply for Visa in advance from Indonesian embassy or consulate in your country.

How Much Does The VOA (Visa On Arrival) Fees

A VOA normally costs USD 10 for a 7-day visa or USD 25 for 30 days since the arrival date only for a single entry. You have to pay in cash, no credit cards are accepted for VOA fees on arrival. So do not forget to bring a cash in USD. There are a bank counter and a money changer have been set upalongside payment counters in some major Indonesian airports to make a process faster and easier.

You can always extend the visa for another 30 (thirty) days for a fee of USD 25 at any immigration office in Indonesia. But please bear in mind that the visa is not a work visa nor a visitation visa, and it cannot be converted or upgraded to other immigration permits. If you need a longer permit to stay or a different type of visa, might you need to apply for a visa in advance from the nearest embassy or consulate in your city.

There is an “Immigration on board” for some Garuda Indonesia medium-long haul flights such as from Shanghai, Sydney, Tokyo (Narita), or Osaka. You should purchase a VOA voucher at Garuda Indonesia check in counters before you leave the departure airport and the assigned immigration officers will check your passport, issue your VOA and give a special card in the plane. You can head straight to immigration counter in the arrival airport in Indonesia and return the special card to the ground immigration officer. If you fly to Indonesia from those departure points, VOA can be paid with local currency such as AUD or Japanese Yen.

At international points of entry in Indonesia, such as Soekarno Hatta International Airport in Jakarta, Kuala Namu International Airport in Medan or Ngurah Rai International Airport in Bali, dedicated lanes for visa on arrival applicants are present just before the immigration checkpoints.Prior to arrival, foreign passengers are normally given Arrival and Departure Card to be filled in the plane, or you can ask the stewardess for the card. You need to keep the departure card inside your passport to be returned when you leave Indonesia. VOA purchasing will take around 15-30 minutes per applicant, depending on the number of persons applying and completeness of the documents requested.

List Of Airports And Seaports to Issue VOA (Visa On Arrival)

You should be aware that not all points of entry to the country have the facilities to issue a VOA. There is a list below of Airports and Seaports in Indonesia that have VOA facilities:


AcehSultan Iskandar Muda Airport (BTJ) - Banda Aceh, AcehNorth SumatraKuala Namu Airport (KNO)-Medan, Belawan Harbour-Medan, Sibolga Harbour-MedanRiauSultan Syarif Kasim II Airport (PKU)-Pekanbaru, Yos Sudarso Harbour-DumaiRiau IslandsHang Nadim International Airport (BTH) - Batam, Sekupang Harbour - Batam, Citra Tritunas Harbour - Batam, Nongsa Harbour - Batam, Marina Teluk Senimba Harbour - Batam, Batam Centre Harbour - Batam, Bandar Bintan Telani Lagoi Harbour - Tanjung Uban, Bandar Sri Udana Lobam Harbour - Tanjung Uban, Sri Bintan Pura Harbour - Tanjung Pinang, Tanjung Balai Karimun Harbour - Tanjung Balai KarimunWest SumatraMinangkabau International Airport (PDG)-Padang, Teluk Bayur Harbour-PadangSouth SumatraSultan Mahmud Badaruddin II Airport (PLM)-Palembang


JakartaSoekarno-Hatta International Airport (CGK), Halim Perdanakusuma Airport (HLP), Tanjung Priok HarbourWest JavaHusein Sastranegara International Airport (BDO)-BandungCentral JavaAchmad Yani International Airport (SRG)-Semarang, Tanjung Mas Harbour-Semarang, Adisumarmo International Airport (SOC)-Surakarta/SoloYogyakartaAdisucipto International Airport (JOG)-YogyakartaEast JavaJuanda International Airport (SUB)-Surabaya


BaliNgurah Rai International Airport (DPS)-Denpasar, Benoa Harbour-Badung, Padang Bai Harbour-Karang AsemWest Nusa TenggaraLombok International Airport (LOP)-MataramEast Nusa TenggaraEl Tari Airport (KOE)-Kupang, Maumere Harbour-Maumere, Tenau Harbour-Kupang


North SulawesiSam Ratulangi International Airport (MDC)-Manado, Bitung Harbour-BitungSouth SulawesiHasanuddin International Airport (UPG)-Makassar, Soekarno Hatta Harbour-Makassar, Pare-Pare Harbour-Pare Pare


 East KalimantanSultan Aji Muhamad Sulaiman Airport (BPN)-BalikpapanWest KalimantanSupadio Airport (PNK)-Pontianak, Entikong Border Crossing Gate-Entikong


PapuaJayapura Harbour-Jayapura

Embassy Of the Republic Of Indonesia In Your Country Or Domicile





What's on