Visa Entry Requirements

Before entering Indonesia, you need to have a passport valid for at least 6 months and a visa. Without valid documentations, you may be denied entry.

However, citizens of 12 countries are qualified for a visa-free entry to Indonesia. These countries are: Brunei Darussalam, Malaysia, Singapore, the Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam, Hong Kong SAR, Macao SAR, Chile, Equador, Morocco and Peru. Citizens of these countries are allowed to enter and stay in Indonesia for up to 30 days without a visa.

Nationals of other countries may choose one of these methods to apply for a visa:

Visa Before Arrival

You can apply for an Indonesian visa in advance at your nearest Indonesian Embassy or Consulate. A typical visitors visa lasts for 30 days or 60 days, depending on your application. Visa in advance works best if you are from a country that is not in the visa free list, or is not allowed to get visa on arrival. Note that if you want to get a 60 days visa, this is the only way to get it.

Depending on where you live, requirements for visa application may differ from one embassy to another. Typical supporting documents that may be required include invitation letters from a sponsor, booking reference for lodgings and bank statements.

Visa On Arrival

Some visitors from certain nationalities are allowed to apply for a visa on arrival in Indonesia. In international point of entries in Indonesia such as Soekarno Hatta International Airport in Jakarta or Ngurah Rai International Airport in Bali, dedicated lanes for visa on arrival applications are present just before the immigration checkpoints.

Visa on arrival normally costs 25 USD and lasts for 30 days since the arrival date. You can always extend the visa for a fee of Rp 250000, which will extend it for another 30 days, at any immigration office.

Similar to visa free entry, visa on arrival is available only for citizens of several countries, which include: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Russia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Sweden, Taiwan, The Netherlands, UK and the USA.

Please consult the Indonesian Embassy or Consulate in your country for more accurate information as regulations may change anytime.



What's on